Bishop Barbara has announced her retirement effective December 31, 2019. Coordinating Council has met, an Electoral Committee has been formed, and an Electoral Assembly has been scheduled. The election of the first Bishop for the Territory of the People will take place on Saturday, September 28, 2019 at St. Alban’s Anglican Church, Ashcroft, BC.

Delegates were sent information on July 4, 2019 about the Electoral Assembly along with the Call for Nominations which has been issued by the Electoral Committee. 

Territory Policy 1.1: Nominating and Electoral Procedure for the Election of a Bishop for the Territory of the People Anglican Church outlines the process for the Election of a Bishop for the Territory of the People.

Documents for Your Information and Interest:
Call for Nominations
Nomination Form
Episcopal Election Timeline

 Nominations are open and completed forms must be received by email [email protected] by the Electoral Committee on or before Midnight PDT on July 29, 2019.

The Electoral Committee includes the following people:  
Suzanne Jackson, Counsel to the Bishop
Dwight Oatway, Financial Officer
Denise Boulanger, Lay Secretary
The Rev. Canon Len Fraser, Clergy Secretary
The Very Rev. Ken Gray, Member at Large
Ken Ponsford, Member at Large
Marlena Anderson, Member at Large
Brenda Munroe, Member at Large
Amy Charlie, Pastoral Elder
The Ven. Douglas Fenton, Metropolitan’s Appointment
Melissa Green, Chair 
Angus Muir, Liaison for Indigenous members (non-voting)

If you require further information on the nomination or electoral process, please contact Melissa Green, Chair of the Electoral Commitee at [email protected] or 250-682-4866. 

If you require further information on Electoral Assembly Registration, contact Margaret Mitchell by phone at (778) 471-5573 or by email at [email protected]